New year…. for the Yids

It’s that time of year…. the leaves are falling, the air feels a little bit crispy, and we’re all back in the swing of things… So I’m back to my blog, finally.  I guess I had a few weeks of “writer’s block” ….Scratch that, in reality I think I have so many topics I want to write about and I could never narrow it down for a post. Or for a post I deemed “good enough”.  So now I’m back and that’s why this post is fitting.

It’s dippin’ the apples in the honey time of year for the Jewish people.  Our new year is upon us and as we congregate in synagogues around the world to hear the trumpeting blast of a Ram’s horn   (the Shofar)  I’ll be trying to take the time to reflect on what I hope to work on for the year ahead, and what I’d like to achieve, not just for myself, but for those around me.  While career-goal setting is not in my wheelhouse, I’m trying to flip that around.  So this Jewish New Year is as good a time as any to kick that off.  It’s also a time to ask forgiveness to those around you, make amends, make peace, and bring love to those we love so that the year ahead will be a good one….and that Higher Power Above will save a nice cozy spot for us in that Good Book.

jewish-new-year-rosh-hashanah-complain-funny-ecard-YvY.png

It’s hard to say “I’m sorry”. Admittance of guilt, wrongdoing, shame, hurt.  But it adds humility, it adds character, it makes us stronger and better people.  There are those times I SHOULD have bitten my tongue, and didn’t.  That time I gave a glance that wasn’t so friendly ( resting bitch-face is still a thing for some of us). Or the time I was impatient and didn’t give someone the opportunity for their moment, or their time to shine.  For that, I am sorry. But it’s no good just writing it down, or saying it out loud.  We need to say it to one another. To talk it out face to face.  I’m working on that, and now is as good a time as any.

applesandhoney.jpg

Leave a Reply

